Five factions, including Communist Party, registered in parliament

Author: Interfax-Ukraine All articles by this author

More about Interfax-Ukraine

Dec. 12, 2012 17:01
215 159
Newly elected lawmakers stand while the national anthem is being played.
Photo by Kostyantyn Chernichkin

Deputy Oleksandr Yefremov, who is presiding at the opening session of the Verkhovna Rada of the seventh convocation, has named the parliamentary factions. 

In particular, the Verkhovna Rada faction registered the Regions Party faction of 210 MPs. Yefremov was elected the head of the faction.

The faction of the Batkivschyna United Opposition includes 99 MPs. The head of the faction is Arseniy Yatseniuk, and his deputies are Serhiy Sobolev, Dmytro Shlemko, Viacheslav Kyrylenko, Borys Tarasiuk, Serhiy Sas, Andriy Ivanchuk, and Serhiy Pashynsky.

The parliament also registered the UDAR Party faction of 42 deputies. The head of the faction is Vitali Klitschko, and his deputies are Viktor Pynzenyk and Vitaliy Kovalchuk.

The Svoboda Party faction includes 37 MPs. The head of the faction is Oleh Tiahnybok, and his deputies are Andriy Mokhnyk and Ruslan Koshulynsky.

The faction of the Ukrainian Communist Party includes 33 MPs. It is headed by Petro Symonenko, and the deputy heads of the faction are Adam Martyniuk and Valentyn Matveyev.

Only 445 MPs were elected to the Verkhovna Rada. The results of parliamentary elections in five single-seat constituencies were declared invalid.


215 159

The Kyiv Post is hosting comments to foster lively public debate through the Disqus system. Criticism is fine, but stick to the issues. Comments that include profanity or personal attacks will be removed from the site. The Kyiv Post will ban flagrant violators. If you think that a comment or commentator should be banned, please flag the offending material.

comments powered by Disqus

Read more in {{sectionName}} section

All in {{sectionName}} section