Parliamentary coalition expands to 238 parliamentarians

Print version
March 30, 2010, 2:47 p.m. | Politics — by Interfax-Ukraine
Our Ukraine-People's Self-Defense (OU-PSD) MP Serhiy Vasylenko and Bloc of Yulia Tymoshenko (BYT) MPs Valentyn Zubov and Oleh Malich joined the coalition of parliamentary factions on Tuesday. The total number of coalition members now is 238.

On March 11, 2010, Parliament Speaker Volodymyr Lytvyn declared the creation of the Stability and Reform coalition consisting of 235 MPs. The coalition was formed by factions of the Regions Party, the Bloc of Lytvyn, the Communist Party of Ukraine, along with six MPs each from the Our Ukraine-People's Self-Defense Bloc and the Bloc of Yulia Tymoshenko, and four independent MPs.

Twenty-two Regions Party MPs took an oath office on Tuesday to replace those who received new posts in the government and the presidential administration. They all were included in the Regions Party faction and the Stability and Reform coalition.
The Kyiv Post is hosting comments to foster lively public debate through the Disqus system. Criticism is fine, but stick to the issues. Comments that include profanity or personal attacks will be removed from the site. The Kyiv Post will ban flagrant violators. If you think that a comment or commentator should be banned, please flag the offending material.
comments powered by Disqus


© 1995–2015 Public Media

Web links to Kyiv Post material are allowed provided that they contain a URL hyperlink to the material and a maximum 500-character extract of the story. Otherwise, all materials contained on this site are protected by copyright law and may not be reproduced without the prior written permission of Public Media at
All information of the Interfax-Ukraine news agency placed on this web site is designed for internal use only. Its reproduction or distribution in any form is prohibited without a written permission of Interfax-Ukraine.