Sobolev names members of Ukraine's opposition government

Print version
March 31, 2010, 10:10 p.m. | Politics — by Interfax-Ukraine
Head of Ukraine's opposition government MP Serhiy Sobolev of the Bloc of Yulia Tymoshenko (BYT) has named members of his government.

In an interview with reporters on Wednesday, he announced that Volodymyr Stretovych, Yuriy Karmazin, Borys Tarasiuk and Oles Doniy (all members of the Our Ukraine-People's Self-Defense) are deputy prime ministers in the opposition government. Member of the OU-PSD faction Roman Zvarych is minister of the Cabinet of Ministers. Other representatives of the OU-PSD faction are Minister of Economy and Infrastructure Oleksandr Bondar, Interior Minister Hennadiy Moskal and Minister for Emergencies, Environment and Natural Resources Yuriy Hrymchak.

Other ministers of the opposition government are representatives of the BYT faction: Justice Minister Olena Shustyk, Regional Development Minister Volodymyr Bondarenko, Health Minister Serhiy Shevchuk, Education and Science Minister Volodymyr Polokhalo, Finance Minister Andriy Senchenko, Agrarian Policy Minister Ivan Kyrylenko, Defense Minister Mykola Petruk, Culture Minister Ihor Hryniv, Labor and Social Policy Minister Andriy Pavlovsky, Energy Minister Oleksandr Hudyma, Minister for Sport, Tourism and Euro 2012 Ostap Semyrak.

Only MPs can be members of the opposition government.
The Kyiv Post is hosting comments to foster lively public debate through the Disqus system. Criticism is fine, but stick to the issues. Comments that include profanity or personal attacks will be removed from the site. The Kyiv Post will ban flagrant violators. If you think that a comment or commentator should be banned, please flag the offending material.
comments powered by Disqus


© 1995–2015 Public Media

Web links to Kyiv Post material are allowed provided that they contain a URL hyperlink to the material and a maximum 500-character extract of the story. Otherwise, all materials contained on this site are protected by copyright law and may not be reproduced without the prior written permission of Public Media at
All information of the Interfax-Ukraine news agency placed on this web site is designed for internal use only. Its reproduction or distribution in any form is prohibited without a written permission of Interfax-Ukraine.