New York Times: Ukraine chess player sportsmanlike in high stakes play

Print version
Sept. 11, 2011, 6:09 p.m. |
Cheating and temper tantrums get a lot of attention at chess tournaments, but two players at the World Cup are making news for all the right reasons. During a match a week ago between the two players, target="_blank">David Navara of the Czech Republic and Alexander Moiseenko of Ukraine, Navara seemed to bump his king while reaching for his bishop on the 35th move. Under the rules, a player must move the first piece he touches, in this case the king. But after consulting a referee, the players agreed that Navara would be allowed to move his bishop instead.

Keep reading...
The Kyiv Post is hosting comments to foster lively public debate through the Disqus system. Criticism is fine, but stick to the issues. Comments that include profanity or personal attacks will be removed from the site. The Kyiv Post will ban flagrant violators. If you think that a comment or commentator should be banned, please flag the offending material.
comments powered by Disqus


© 1995–2015 Public Media

Web links to Kyiv Post material are allowed provided that they contain a URL hyperlink to the material and a maximum 500-character extract of the story. Otherwise, all materials contained on this site are protected by copyright law and may not be reproduced without the prior written permission of Public Media at
All information of the Interfax-Ukraine news agency placed on this web site is designed for internal use only. Its reproduction or distribution in any form is prohibited without a written permission of Interfax-Ukraine.