‘XX Century Music’

Print version
June 18, 2009, 6:27 p.m. | Music — by Alexandra Matoshko

Alexandra Matoshko

Kyiv Post Guide Editor

‘XX Century Music’ "XX Century Music" is another concert of the series “Artists – for Spiritual Revival of Ukraine.” The project was founded by the honored pianist of Ukraine, Hanna Seredenko. Thanks to her, concerts featuring lesser known works of the famous Ukrainian and European composers have been played at the National Philharmonics for the last 10 years. At the concert the list of performers include Seredenko herself, as well as winners of international contests. The program features Olivier Messian – three plays for two pianos from “Amen Word Images;” Arvo Paert – “Mozart-Adajio” for violin, cello and piano; Anton Webern – four pieces for violin and piano; Igor Stravinskiy – suite from “Soldier Story” for clarinet, violin and piano; Alfred Schnittke – suite for two pianos, and other works.

National Philharmonics of Ukraine (2 Volodymyrskiy Uzviz, 278-1697). June 21, 7 p.m. Tickets Hr 10-50.
The Kyiv Post is disabling its online comment section due to an increase in trolls, violent comments and other personal attacks. Other news organizations worldwide have taken similar steps for the same reasons. The Kyiv Post regrets having to take this action. The newspaper believes in a robust public debate, but the discussion must be constructive and intelligent. For the time being, the Kyiv Post will allow comments on its moderated Facebook group The newspaper will consider hosting online comments again when circumstances allow. Thank you from the Kyiv Post.


© 1995–2015 Public Media

Web links to Kyiv Post material are allowed provided that they contain a URL hyperlink to the material and a maximum 500-character extract of the story. Otherwise, all materials contained on this site are protected by copyright law and may not be reproduced without the prior written permission of Public Media at
All information of the Interfax-Ukraine news agency placed on this web site is designed for internal use only. Its reproduction or distribution in any form is prohibited without a written permission of Interfax-Ukraine.