KyivPost

World Affairs Journal: Integrating an authoritarian Ukraine into democratic Europe?

Print version
June 26, 2011, 2:26 p.m. | Op-ed — by Alexander J. Motyl

Alexander J. Motyl

Alexander J. Motyl is professor of political science at Rutgers University-Newark, as well as a writer and painter. He served as associate director of the Harriman Institute at Columbia University from 1992 to 1998. A specialist on Ukraine, Russia, and the USSR, and on nationalism, revolutions, empires, and theory, he is the author of Pidsumky imperii; Puti imperii; Imperial Ends: The Decay, Collapse, and Revival of Empires; Revolutions, Nations, Empires: Conceptual Limits and Theoretical Possibilities; Dilemmas of Independence: Ukraine after Totalitarianism; Sovietology, Rationality, Nationality: Coming to Grips with Nationalism in the USSR; Will the Non‑Russians Rebel? State, Ethnicity, and Stability in the USSR; The Turn to the Right: The Ideological Origins and Development of Ukrainian Nationalism, 1919–1929; and the editor of more than ten volumes, including The Encyclopedia of Nationalism. Motyl’s novels include Whiskey Priest; Who Killed Andrei Warhol; Flippancy; The Jew Who Was Ukrainian; and a work in progress, My Orchidia. His poems have appeared in Counterexample Poetics, Istanbul Literary Review, and New York Quarterly (forthcoming). He has done performances of his fiction at the Cornelia Street Café, the Bowery Poetry Club, and the Ukrainian Museum in New York. Motyl’s artwork has been shown in solo and group shows in New York, Philadelphia, and Toronto; his art is represented by The Tori Collection.

A distinguished group of Ukrainian and Western analysts has recently argued that Europe should make Ukraine’s integration into European institutions conditional on the Yanukovych regime’s adherence to democratic standards. Thus, they argue: “The EU should advance free trade and political agreements only if the Yanukovych administration demonstrates its clear commitment to European values.” In other words, no democracy in Ukraine, no integration with Europe. Read the story here.
The Kyiv Post is hosting comments to foster lively debate. Criticism is fine, but stick to the issues. Comments that include profanity or personal attacks will be removed from the site. If you think that a posted comment violates these standards, please flag it and alert us. We will take steps to block violators.
Anonymous June 26, 2011, 5:18 p.m.    

They should make it conditional on Ukraine adopting European standards and European models of governance Ukraine will never be a free independent state as long as it remains a Presidential Autocracy. Ukraine needs to adopt a full parliamentary model and the Euro as its economic unit as did Latvia and Estonia. Europe needs to draft a model; constitution that prospective and existing states should use to bring their constitution in line. Any state that does not conform to the constitutional standards should be prohibited from joining the EU. Existing states should be given 20 years to reform their constitutions also brining them in line with a common goal and common standard.

Ukraine would be well served if it adopted a west minister system of government where government is determined by a majority of the legislators. Ukraine should also adopt a system of the common law as the basis for its judicial system.

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous June 27, 2011, 5:56 p.m.    

Suggested and otherwise, the imperialism behind the use of some words is evident.

You don't have to be &quot;European&quot; to be in the EU.

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous June 26, 2011, 8:12 p.m.    

Ukraine have no other appeal to the west but a sex tourism state. The orange DERMOcraps did that, being US paid quislings.

During the orange mafia rule their xoxol diaspora cronies profited in sex slave trafficking and pimping of cheap Ukraine girls, while the children prostitution and alcoholism skyrocketed in the orange Ukraine.

The EU being US marionettes did not talk much about the orange mafia state blatant disregard of the basic human rights of the Ukraine children.

Now the the US lead the World into economy crash and the EU is suffering the consequences of their US masters being BROKE, they look for other markets to dump their crap, but the ASIA economy superpower competition drives the EU into the poor house much what is going with their US masters.

The EU is up to its neck into the financial problems that plague the Eurozone. They barely can cope with the Greece impact and far worse is comming - the Spain economy tatters and Spain is far large economy compared to Greece. Italy credid ratings got down the drain. Not to mention Ireland and Portugal.

In view of the developing financial crisis The EU will think twice before accepting yet another parasite underdeveloped economy like the Ukraine one.

There are far better candidates like Israel and Turkey who wait for EU membership for decades, so Ukraine shall forget about any kind of EU association in the nearest 100 years. LOL :D

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous June 27, 2011, 12:54 p.m.    

very clear insight

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous June 27, 2011, 12:52 a.m.    

The truth hurts, hence the incohesive orange whine.

I only state the facts about the the impact of the orange marauders upon the Ukraine. It had nothing to do with any kind of TRUE democracy but with US-paid DERMOcrapy, heh, heh, heh :D

Orange Ukraine == US banana republic.

The current state of the EU is well publicized. Spain is next, then Italy with their $1.3 TRILLION debt.

The US debt is worse than all the thurdworlders combined. Beggars, pure and simple.

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous June 27, 2011, 5:48 a.m.    

Um.. its pretty well known that the human trafficking racket is run out of moscow and tel-a-viv,.. and that its most active in Eastern Ukraine,.. along with the AIDS epidemic and just about any other degrading sub-human artifact of the soviet plague... like you.

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous June 29, 2011, 10:17 a.m.    

Not like the &quot;virtuous&quot; pro-Bandera kooks in Galicia and Volhynia.

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous June 26, 2011, 10:50 p.m.    

You really are a complete idiot, aren't you? You spout off about geo-political situations as if you know what you're talking about, but the reality is that that you know nothing. Your only agenda is to discredit any democratic movements in Ukraine-a country you want to see colonized by Moscow again. Climb back under your rock.

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous June 29, 2011, 10:18 a.m.    

Sure beats your pebble brained idiocy.

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous July 5, 2011, 2:10 a.m.    

LOL &quot;There are far better candidates like Israel and Turkey who wait for EU membership for decades&quot;. You say this and you really expect people to believe you? Please do not be shocked by this information:

First of all perhaps you should know Israel is not on the European continent. Neither of course is the vast majority of Turkey, but you should know that as Turkey becomes more authoritarian, it becomes even less likely to be a candidate for the EU. Turkey has more journalists in prison than any other country at the moment. At that rate it will never become a member. Countries like Turkey make Ukraine look promising.

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous June 27, 2011, 7:33 p.m.    

Ukraine will enter the EU without Yanukovych. He is finished.

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous June 28, 2011, 5:36 p.m.    

Funny you say that. It's the EU that looks finished. There is no way the E.U. could accept Ukraine as a member now. The EU has problems up the ass now. Look at Greece.

{# <-- parent id goes here
Anonymous June 29, 2011, 10:16 a.m.    

Idiotlogues have off the wall beliefs.

{# <-- parent id goes here

KyivPost

© 1995–2014 Public Media

Web links to Kyiv Post material are allowed provided that they contain a URL hyperlink to the www.kyivpost.com material and a maximum 500-character extract of the story. Otherwise, all materials contained on this site are protected by copyright law and may not be reproduced without the prior written permission of Public Media at news@kyivpost.com
All information of the Interfax-Ukraine news agency placed on this web site is designed for internal use only. Its reproduction or distribution in any form is prohibited without a written permission of Interfax-Ukraine.