The Kyiv Post welcomes feedback about our new website and we stand ready to fix any problems users might encounter in our test phase. Contact us at: or +38-044-591-3344. Thank you!

Share Tweet Pocket Add to Bookmarks
You're reading: Moscow Helsinki Group chairman regrets that Nobel Peace Prize went to EU

Lyudmila Alekseyeva, the head of the Moscow Helsinki Group, believes the decision to award the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize to the European Union was wrong.

“If it were awarded to political prisoners in Iran, it would be clearer to me. I wonder how they will photograph the EU as a Nobel Prize winner and how they will give this prize to the EU,” Alekseyeva told Interfax on Friday.

Alekseyeva and another Russian human rights activist, Svetlana Gannushkina, were among the persons nominated for Nobel Peace Prize 2012.

“Don’t think I am saying this because I am hurt. It’s a comment from a sensible person. First they give the Nobel Prize to Obama, then to the European Union, and public figures in all countries get bored. Who’s next? Maybe the Shanghai Cooperation Organization?” Alekseyeva said.

Alekseyeva said it would have been right to give the Nobel Prize to some Russian human rights activist or public figure.

“Our movement is almost half a century old. It developed in very difficult conditions. The Andrei Sakharov Award [awarded by the European Parliament] was once colossal moral support. The Norwegian Nobel Committee could have played the same role. Unfortunately, it didn’t,” Alekseyeva said.

Found a spelling error? Let us know – highlight it and press Ctrl + Enter.


Add comment

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.
More in this section

Add a picture
Choose file
Add a quote

Are you sure you want to delete your comment?


Are you sure you want to delete all user's comments?


Are you sure you want to unapprove user's comment?


Are you sure you want to move to spam user's comment?


Are you sure you want to move to trash user's comment?

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: