4th Kyiv Post CEO breakfast tackles trade issue

Prev 01 18 Next

The Jan. 1 start of Ukraine's free-trade agreement with the European Union -- and whether the nation is ready -- was the main topic of the fourth Kyiv Post/DHL Express/Syutkin & Partners Nov. 6 CEO breakfast.

More than a dozen participants discussed the opportunities and challenges for Ukraine under the trade agreement.

Participants included:

Economy Minister Aivaras Abromavicius; Deputy Agricultural Minister Vladyslava Rutytska, European Commission First Secretary Jocelyn Guitton, former deputy head of the State Fiscal Service Kostiantyn Likarchuk, U.S.-Ukraine Business Council president Morgan Williams, DHL Express Ukraine CEO Vadim Sidoruk, Syutkin & Partners partner Nataliya Osadcha, SUN InBevUkraine acting general director Denis Khrenov, Nestle Ukraine/Moldova market head Ansgar Bornemann, Chumak President Carl Sturen, METRO Cash & Carry CEO Martin Schumacher, Kyiv-Atlantic Ukraine general director Daniel Sweere, Horizon Partners CEO Lenna Koszarny, Credit Agricole Bank’s Jean-Jacques Herve and Corum Group.

In a survey of participants by moderator Andrey Bulakh, managing partner of Deloitte Ukraine, 69 percent see the free-trade agreement as bringing more opportunities for Ukrainian-based businesses, while 23 percent expect more challenges and 8 percent think it will have a neutral effect. When it came to barriers for Ukraine’s full participation in the free trade area, 73 percent cited the inability to meet EU quality standards.


Found a spelling error? Let us know – highlight it and press Ctrl + Enter.


Add comment

Sorry, you must be logged in to post a comment.
More Galleries

Add a picture
Choose file
Add a quote

Are you sure you want to delete your comment?


Are you sure you want to delete all user's comments?


Are you sure you want to unapprove user's comment?


Are you sure you want to move to spam user's comment?


Are you sure you want to move to trash user's comment?

Spelling error report

The following text will be sent to our editors: