Ukraine has signed a visa-free regime agreement with six new countries: Grenada and overseas countries and territories of the Netherlands such as Aruba, Curacao, Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba.

Starting on March 1, Ukrainians can travel to these countries without visas and stay there for up to 90 days every half-year.

“We expand the freedom of travel for Ukrainians despite all circumstances,” Minister of Foreign Affairs Dmytro Kuleba announced on Twitter on Feb. 28.

A view of the Mogadishu fishing harbor from the Aruba Hotel in Aruba, an island and a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in the mid-south of the Caribbean Sea, about 29 kilometers north of the Venezuelan peninsula of Paraguana and 80 kilometers northwest of Curacao. (AFP / Stuart Price)

The territories of the Dutch Caribbean have similar entry rules as the Netherlands, according to the map created by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. For example, each traveler must present proof of a negative COVID-19 polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test before entering the country.


To visit Grenada, tourists must register online, book accommodation for at least seven nights and receive a confirmation letter from the country’s authorities. Grenada also requires negative PCR test results to allow entry.

View of the Port of Willenstad in Curacao, a Dutch Caribbean island, known for its beaches tucked into coves and its expansive coral reefs rich with marine life. (AFP)

To follow current travel restrictions for different countries and check what documents travelers must present to authorities to enter a particular territory, Ukrainians can visit the Covid Controls website created by the U.S. Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

As of today, Ukrainians can travel to almost 130 destinations around the world without a visa. However, many countries have imposed entry restrictions because of the COVID-19 pandemic. As of Feb. 28, only 70 countries remain open for Ukrainians, according to Covid Controls.

Starting in March, Ukrainian tourists can resume traveling to Georgia, Kuleba said. Ukrainians can go to the country by plane given they present a negative PCR test. After three days in Georgia, tourists will need to take another PCR test to prove that they are healthy.

Ukrainian borders, meanwhile, are open for tourists who have negative PCR test results. To go to Ukraine, foreigners can get an electronic visa. The consular fee for a single visa is $20.


Ukraine issues e-visas for citizens of 45 countries. They can get it for business, tourism and private purposes, as well as for medical treatment, cultural, sport, scientific and educational activities.

To suggest a correction or clarification, write to us here
You can also highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter