South America’s Mercosur trade bloc has declined a request by Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky to address its upcoming summit, host Paraguay said on Wednesday.

Bloc members Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay and Paraguay failed to reach an agreement on Zelensky’s request, made to the host country last week, according to deputy foreign minister Raul Cano, who declined to say which states were against it.

Zelensky has addressed several national parliaments as well as regional and international forums since Russia’s invasion of his country in February, including NATO, the G7, the World Economic Forum, the United Nations and even the Cannes Film Festival.

The Ukrainian leader spoke to Paraguay’s President Mario Abdo Benitez last week, asking to be allowed to address a Mercosur summit to be held on Thursday, following a ministerial meeting on Wednesday.


“There was no consensus,” said Cano, adding the decision had been communicated to Kyiv.

Brazil’s President Jair Bolsonaro, whose presence at the summit has not been confirmed, has said his country would remain “neutral” over Russia’s war on Ukraine.

He had travelled to Moscow for talks with Russian President Vladimir Putin in February, just days before the invasion.

Last month, Bolsonaro said he had received assurances from Putin that Russia would continue to deliver much-needed fertilizer to the South American agricultural giant.

Russian Missile Wounds 3, Sparks Warehouse Blaze in Odesa
Other Topics of Interest

Russian Missile Wounds 3, Sparks Warehouse Blaze in Odesa

A Russian cruise missile hit a warehouse in the southern port city of Odesa, sparking a fire over thousands of square metres (yards), Ukrainian officials said on Monday.

Last week, Brazil said it would buy as much diesel from Russia as it could, despite international sanctions against Moscow.

Argentina’s Alberto Fernandez was also in Moscow in early February. On the day of the start of the invasion on February 24, Fernandez urged “all parties” in a tweet “not to use military force.”

“We call on the Russian Federation to put an end to the actions taken and for all parties involved to return to the dialogue table,” he said at the time.


Brazil and Argentina did not sign a February 25 Organization of American States (OAS) resolution condemning the war, while Uruguay and Paraguay did.

To suggest a correction or clarification, write to us here
You can also highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter