Eight countries, including Ukraine, joined the Council’s decision on the eighth package of sanctions against Russia, adopted at the beginning of October.

“The candidate countries North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania and Ukraine, the potential candidate country Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, align themselves with this Council Decision,” reads the press release of the Council of the EU.

As noted, these countries will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

“The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it,” says the press release.

As reported, on October 6, the Council of the EU reached an agreement on the eighth package of sanctions against Russia which provides for oil price caps, new bans on the import and export of steel, wood, machinery, aviation, plastics, chemicals worth 7 billion euros, as well as sanctions against new individuals and legal entities and companies involved in the war with Ukraine.

To suggest a correction or clarification, write to us here
You can also highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter