The Security Service of Ukraine (SBU) has revealed the identities of 31 alleged collaborators who joined the so-called headquarters of the Russian Ministry of Internal Affairs in the temporarily occupied part of the Kherson region.

The individuals are accused of being assigned to the Novokakhovka and Oleshki units of the self-proclaimed Russian police, with their personnel selections being conducted under the watchful eye of FSB operatives.

While in these positions, they actively participated in punitive actions orchestrated by the Russian forces against members of the local resistance movement, the SBU said.

The atrocities included mass abductions and looting, and they were also allegedly complicit in imprisoning local residents in Russian torture chambers set up within occupied buildings.


Furthermore, collaborators resorted to using repression to intimidate residents and manipulate them into casting their votes in a fraudulent referendum on the regions accession to the Russian Federation.

The SBU investigators have pressed charges against these 31 individuals under Article 111-1 Part 7 of the Criminal Code of Ukraine, which deals with collaborative activity with the enemy.

The suspects are currently evading justice within the occupied southern part of Ukraine.

The authorities are actively taking comprehensive measures to ensure that those responsible are held accountable for their actions.

ISW Russian Offensive Campaign Assessment, July 20, 2024
Other Topics of Interest

ISW Russian Offensive Campaign Assessment, July 20, 2024

Latest from the Institute for the Study of War.
To suggest a correction or clarification, write to us here
You can also highlight the text and press Ctrl + Enter